Professional Standards

Graduates of accredited schools and colleges of acupuncture and Oriental medicine must pass thorough examination by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine to receive the title “Diplomate in Acupuncture (NCCAOM).” NCCAOM certification is the recognized standard of practitioner training in most U.S. states.

The Michigan Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine supports the adoption of NCCAOM standards in the state. These standards assure patients that they will receive safe and effective treatment from qualified professionals.

In 1997 the National Institutes of Health stated, “An important factor for the integration of acupuncture into the health care system is the training and credentialing of acupuncture practitioners by the appropriate State agencies. This is necessary to allow the public and other health practitioners to identify qualified acupuncture practitioners.”

Here are some of the abbreviations you may find unfamiliar, and their meanings:

NCCAOM Certifications

DiplAc – Diplomate of Acupuncture
DiplCH – Diplomate of Chinese Herbology
DiplOM – Diplomate of Oriental Medicine (a newer designation that encompasses both of the above) 

State, Provincial, & National Designations

RAc – Registered Acupuncturist
LAc – Licensed Acupuncturist
CAc – Certified Acupuncturist
DOM – Doctor of Oriental Medicine
OMD – Oriental Medical Doctor

Educational Degrees

MAc – Master of Acupuncture
MTOM – Master of Traditional Oriental Medicine
MSOM – Master of Science in Oriental Medicine
MSTCM – Master of Science in Traditional Chinese Medicine
DAOM – Doctorate in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine

Resources on the Web
© 2015 Michigan Association of Acupuncture & Oriental Medicine

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software